the Introduction of Negara Brunei Darussalam
 updatetime:2010-04-01 14:18:00   View:0 Source:Wiki
    Negara Brunei Darussalam is divided into four districts namely Brunei/Muara, Tutong, Belait and Temburong.

Flag Description
The rectangular shaped State flag of four component portion, two parallelograms and two trapeziums - is cut across by a parallelogram from a point 6.35 cm below the top left corner to a point of the same distance from the bottom corner on the right side.

The standard measures 82 cm long by 91.4 cm wide.
Physical Features
The land surface is developed on bedrock of tertiary age comprising of sandstone, shale and clays. The terrain in the western part of Brunei Darussalam is predominantly hilly lowland below 91 metres, but rising in the hinterland to about 300 metres. The eastern part of the state consists predominantly of rugged mountain terrain, rising 1,850 metres above sea level at Bukit Pagon. The coast has a wide, tidal and swampy plain.
Brunei Darussalam has an equatorial climate characterized by a uniform high temperature, high humidity and heavy rainfall. Temperatures range from 23 - 32 Degree Celsius, while rainfall varies from 2,500 mm annually on the coast to 7,500 mm in the interior. There is no distinct wet season.
Capital and Town
Brunei Darussalam is divided into four districts namely Brunei/Muara, Tutong, Belait and Temburong. Bandar Seri Begawan is the capital of Brunei Darussalam with an area of about 16 sq. km. The famed Water Village of Brunei (Kampong Ayer) is also located here.
Other towns are Muara, about 41 km to the north east of Bandar Seri Begawan where the chief port is located, Seria which is the seat of oil and gas industry, and Kuala Belait, Pekan Tutong and Bangar which are the administrative centres of Belait, Tutong and Temburong Districts respectively.
The population of Brunei Darussalam in 2004, is estimated at 357,800 persons, the said total, 186,200 are males and 171,600 females.
Malay, Kedayan, Tutong, Belait, Bisaya, Dusun, Murut 66.3%.
Chinese 11.2%
Other races 11.8%
Iban, Dayak, Kelabit 6%
Official language is Malay. Other languages include English and Chinese (various dialects).
The Culture of Negara Brunei Darussalam
Brunei's culture mainly derived from the Old Malay World, which encompassed the Malay Archipelago and from this stemmed what is known as the Malay Civilisation. Based on historical facts, various cultural elements and foreign civilisations had a hand in influencing the culture of this country. Thus, the influence of culture can be traced to four dominating periods of animism, Hinduism, Islam and the West. However, it was Islam that managed to wound its roots deeply into the culture of Brunei hence it became a way of life and adopted as the state's ideology and philosophy.
Brunei Darussalam is still very much dependent on revenues from crude oil and natural gas to finance its development programmes. Aside from this, Brunei Darussalam also receives income from rents, royalties, corporate tax and dividends. Due to the non-renewable nature of oil and gas, economic diversification has been in Brunei Darussalam's national development agenda. In the current Seventh national Development Plan, 1996-2000, the government has allocated more than $7.2 billion for the implementation of various projects and programmes.